Last time I wrote it was 87, now I will talk about 27. I woke up at 3 am Monday, went downstairs and checked the remote thermometer readout – 27 degrees. Burr. I went back to bed and I laid there wondering how the tomatoes were doing in the Colossal. (Our hoophouse with heat and with plastic). Had the side walls closed when they were supposed to? Was the heater kicking in? Was there enough LP in the tank? After 10 minutes of wondering all of this I figured there was only one way to know. So out I went in my fleece nighty and winter shearling boots. Lucky it was 3:30 am and all of the neighbors were sleeping. The side walls on the Colossal were closed, the heat had just kicked on and it was a cozy 39 degrees in there. I checked the LP tank, 40% full. The tomatoes were happy so therefore so was I. Next stop, the greenhouse. The heat was running and the transplants were cozy at 50 degrees. Next the hoophouse, I didn’t walk down there because I had put a double layer of row cover over the salad mix and was thankful I had. I stood in the yard and looked up at the full moon. It was so bright I could see my shadow. There were stars in the sky and no wind. Total beauty. The dog was sleeping in the yard wondering why I was out prowling. I told her because it was so beautiful out and then I went back to bed.

Salad mix - warm and frost-free under row cover in the hoophouse

Monday morning, 6am.  Still 27 degrees.  What month is this anyway?  We waited until 9:00 to harvest the spinach, because at 7:30 it was frozen.  As I drove to our field across the valley at 7:15, the marsh grasses glistened with ice.  All I could do was admire their glowing beauty.  It’s not often I get to see cat tails and marsh marigolds coated in ice.  The day warmed up beautifully.

The serene beauty of the farm on a perfect spring day

Wednesday – Transplanting corn, Brussels sprouts, broccoli and lettuce.  It was a grey, windless, misty day.  Absolutely perfect for transplanting!!  Truly.   We judge a nice day by how the vegetables will like it.  Vegetable transplants hate hot, sunny windy days.  It stresses them out, therefore stresses us out.  Even though transplants get water sprayed on them as they are being transplanted, we often have to irrigate transplants that have the misfortune of being transplanted on a day that is perfect beach weather.  So a nice, cloudy day is absolutely perfect. 

Who’s transplanting sweet corn? It looks like Eric has a helper, Nasta the dog.

 

“Move over Deb, I want to plant my sweet corn”

 

Shanna the dog thinks the water is coming out of the transplanter just for her. It’s really coming out for the corn transplants, but she didn’t believe us.

 

Barb